Agricultural Engineers recognised in awards

This week, the Institution of Agricultural Engineers held their annual awards ceremony at Amazone’s UK headquarters near Doncaster.

The day was an opportunity to celebrate excellence both within and outside the Institution.

The awards and recipients are listed below:

The Honorary Fellowship Award – An Honorary Fellowship is the highest commendation awarded by the Institution.  It recognises outstanding service to both the Institution and to the Agricultural Engineering Profession.Andy Newbold CEng FIAgrE – for his outstanding service to the Institution and to the land-based Sector

The IAgrE Award Of Merit – The Award of Merit is made to a person distinguished by their work in agricultural science or engineering or one that has rendered outstanding service to the Institution. Hugh Crabtree FIAgrE – for his distinguished work on agricultural ventilation systems and for his service to the Institution

The IAgrE Award Of Merit – The Award of Merit is made to a person distinguished by their work in agricultural science or engineering or one that has rendered outstanding service to the Institution. Graham Higginson IEng REnvP FIAgrE – for his outstanding service to the Institution and his dedicated support to students of agricultural engineering. Graham was very happy to receive the award and thanked the Institution and his colleagues at Harper Adams for their support of his activities.

IAgrE Award For Contribution to the Land-based Sector – This Award is made to those who have made sustained contributions to the land-based sector throughout their career.Ben Taylor-Davies – “Regen Ben” for his immense contributions to the promotion of regenerative farming and soil health Ben was unable to attend the event as he was in Africa but he did send a video message and plans to collect his award in person in 2024.

The President’s Award (formerly the Michael Dwyer Memorial Prize) – The prize is to a mid-career engineer who has made outstanding progress in the agricultural engineering industry. The Institution is delighted to make the award again this year: Craig Grant IEng MIAgrE – for his enthusiasm and dedication to hydraulic engineering Craig was very pleased to receive his award and made special mention of two mentors within the Institution who helped and assisted him, Richard Robinson of Autoguide and Geoff Freedman, of FEG, who introduced him to the Forestry Community.

The Environmental Engineer Award – a new award sponsored by the Douglas Bomford Trust for an individual who has made a substantial contribution to improving any aspect of the environment Mark Kibblewhite CEnv FIAgrE – for his distinguished contribution to environmental professionalism throughout his career Mark received his Award from Richard Robinson, Trustee of the sponsor, The Douglas Bomford Trust.  Mark was honoured that his work has been recognised in this way and was grateful to the IAgrE family for its friendship and support during his membership.

The Environmental Engineer Team Award – a new award sponsored by the Douglas Bomford Trust for a team who have made a substantial contribution to improving any aspect of the environment CNHi Methane Tractor Team lead by Alistair Walshaw Alistair was joined by his colleagues Jahanara Rashid and Martyn Reynolds to receive the Award and are pictured here with Richard Robinson, former IAgrE President and a Trustee of the Douglas Bomford Trust.

Branch Meritorious Service Award – Made to members who have consistently rendered outstanding service to their Branch of the Institution or a Technical Group over a number of years. Stuart Martin CEng FIAgrE – West Midlands Branch – for his enthusiasm and drive in supporting the West Midlands Branch. As he collected his award from the President, Stuart thanked the Institution for the Award and also thanked the Secretariat for the support of the Branches.

Douglas Bomford Paper Award – The Award is offered to the author or authors of a paper which, in the previous calendar year, was published in full in the Institution journals “Landwards” and/or “Biosystems Engineering”. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Institution. The winner of the Award this year, for his contribution to the paper “Exploring novel carbon footprints for improved refrigerated containers usgae and a more efficient supply chain”, Tarl M. Berry, Thijs Defraeye, Alemayehu Ambaw, Corné J. Coetzee, Umezuruike L. Opara,  Biosystems Engineering, Volume 220, 2022, Pages 181-202, ISSN 1537-5110 (This is the link to the paperUmerzuruike Linus Opara CEng FIAgrE – Linus was unable to attend the event as he lives in South Africa but he was delighted to receive the Award and sent this video message of thanks.

The IAgrE Team Achievement Award – this was awarded in recognition of successful teamwork and demonstrates what can be achieved through collaboration. Wiltshire College, Lackham Campus – for their commitment to student development. Sadly no-one was able to attend on the day to recieve the Award but it is hoped that the Western Branch will be able to make the presentation later this summer.

IVEL Award – This award is made at the LAMMA Show to a new product that demonstrates the most positive contribution to the environment. The 2023 Award was presented to Pentair Hypro EU Ltd for the Cleanload Nexus at the LAMMA show in January by CEO Charlie Nicklin. See for the full story.

Student Awards

IAgrE CNH Industrial Award – Made on the basis of a dissertation or thesis undertaken by an undergraduate or postgraduate student as part of their studies demonstrating innovation and practical application in the landbased industry.

  • Postgraduate Award – Philip Pinn, Harper Adams University – for his MEng thesis “Optimising Clamp Silage Compaction” 
  • Undergraduate Award – Jack Ball, University Centre Myerscough – for his final project “The viability of retrofitting existing agricultural machines to run on directly injected hydrogen fuel”

IAgrE Safety Award – This award has been established to encourage and recognise innovation in safe design or operation of equipment or processes by students studying agricultural engineering or subjects related to the application of engineering and technology to the land-based sector.

  • Matthew Brown, University Centre Myerscough – for his undergraduate project “How do advanced driver assisted systems affect driver awareness in agriculture?”

Pictured is the CNHi Methane Tractor Team receiving the The Environmental Engineer Team Award.

Related news:

Editor receives industry accolade